Sign in Register
Posted On: 21 January 2022 10:40 pm
Updated On: 21 January 2022 11:15 pm

27 countries from MENASA region to be part of the 2022 Year of Culture

ILQ Staff
ILQ Staff
Discuss here!
Start a discussion

H.E. Sheikha Al Mayassa bint Hamad bin Khalifa Al Thani in an Instagram post on 21 January announced that 27 countries from the Middle East, North Africa and South Asia (MENASA) will be a part of the Years of Culture programme in 2022.

The Years of Culture is a cultural exchange program initiated by Qatar Museums. It started in the year 2012 to promote mutual understanding, recognition and appreciation between countries. It aims to convey Qatar to an international audience through a variety of exhibitions, festivals, competitions and events in all participating countries.

H.E. Sheikha Al Mayassa in her post said (translated),

Ten years ago, we started a Years of Culture program. It was our way to celebrate Qatar with the world and the world with our local residents.

It was our way to celebrate Qatar’s win of hosting the FIFA World Cup. In 2012, we celebrated Japan, having had 40 years of political and economic relations, being the first country to support Qatar’s LNG industry.

2013 was the UK, 2014 was Brazil to celebrate their own hosting of the World Cup— 2015 China, 2016 Turkey, 2017 Germany, 2018 Russia— their turn as World Cup hosts — 2019 India, 2020 France, 2021 USA and now for 2022 we will be celebrating MENASA as Qatar is the first country in the region to host the World Cup we felt it was time to celebrate the rich cultures in these countries.

This year promises to be full of activities ranging from business to sport, culture and education, environment and much more.

The countries that will be a part of the Years of Culture programme in 2022 are:

  1. Afghanistan
  2. Jordan
  3. Palestine
  4. Algeria
  5. Kuwait
  6. Qatar
  7. Bangladesh
  8. Lebanon
  9. Saudi Arabia
  10. Bahrain
  11. Libya
  12. Sudan
  13. Bhutan
  14. Maldives
  15. Sri Lanka
  16. Egypt
  17. Morocco
  18. Turkey
  19. India
  20. Nepal
  21. Tunisia
  22. Iraq
  23. Oman
  24. UAE
  25. Iran
  26. Pakistan
  27. Yemen

Source: H.E. Sheikha Al Mayassa bint Hamad bin Khalifa Al Thani (Instagram)