Sign in Register
Posted On: 28 May 2014 11:30 pm
Updated On: 12 November 2020 01:51 pm

Rems-Chopsuey, Jaidah Group capture W-League Qatar titles

Agent Nur
Agent Nur
Discuss here!
Start a discussion

Rems-Chopsuey, Jaidah Group capture W-League Qatar titles

by Danotzki Santos

Rems-Chopsuey came back with guns blazing in the pay-off period and hammered out a hard-earned 91-88 victory over Batangas to bag the FILEX crown while Jaidah Group exploited their speed advantage and trounced SFQ Falcons for the OPEX title in the double-header WLeague Basketball Finals on Friday at the Qatar Sports Club.

Trailing half of the way and staring at a 67-73 deficit at the end of the third period, Rems’ Coach Meenok Icasiano’s wards woke up at the onset of the final quarter with sweet shooting Kim Proceso spearheading a 13-7 assault to push the eventual champions to an 80-all deadlock with their foes going into the last 5 minutes of play.

Both teams clamped down on defense and limited each other to a couple of twinners in the next four minutes en-route to an 84-all count before Rems broke away to a 91-86 advantage behind a 7-2 scoring blitz led by FILEX Finals Best Player Mac Gomez in the dying seconds of the match.

Gomez finished with 20 points and 12 rebounds while Proceso added 18 points and 4 assists for Rems, eclipsing the 50-point production of the prolific Batangas duo of Eric Tamayo and Bonlex Magcawas.

Meanwhile, Jaidah Group banked on a relentless open court offensive to overcome their disadvantage in size and stunned the taller and heftier SQF Falcons with a 63-54 beating to run away with the OPEX Championship plum.

OPEX Finals Best Player Mike Paderes, who was also adjudged WLeague Filex Most Valuable Player, led the charge for the open league champions with 19 markers and 8 rebounds with ace forward Rodel Mallari contributing 17 points and 12 rebounds.

W-League OPEX MVP Ahmed Ahmed had 15 points and 13 rebounds and Jamie Watkins normed 13 points and 4 rebounds for SFQ.

The champion teams for both divisions went home QR 8,500 richer for their feat while the runners-up received QR 1,500.

Voted into the FILEX League Mythical Selection were Khim Calo of Kentz as Point Guard, Eric Tamayo of Batangas as Shooting Guard, Bonlex Magacawas of Batangas and Bobby Sarmiento of Rems as Small Forward, Robert Valconcha of Kentz as Power Forward and Mike Paderes of Lucky 7 as Guard-Forward-Center. On the other hand, Jaidah Group’s George Mandaly and Michel Hakim, All Stars’ Gabe Glennon, SFQ’s Eric Tamayo and Ahmed Ahmed along with Batang Sanna’s Jason Tiongson made it to the W-League OPEX Mythical Selection.

Intended to assist distressed overseas Filipino workers in Qatar, this Season 2 is being organized by UFEQ and Social Magnet, sponsored by Craize Maize, Q-Auto, & Scene Stealer, Doha Trendsetter, Audi, Volkswagen, Fitness First, I Love Qatar, City Exchange, Asia United Bank, as well as Capturing Emotions, Chaiful Ideas, Balitang-Q and TFC.