Sign in Register
Posted On: 11 January 2021 06:38 pm
Updated On: 11 January 2021 07:06 pm

Qatar added to Abu Dhabi's 'green list': travelers exempt from quarantine

Discuss here!
Start a discussion

Qatar has been added to Abu Dhabi's updated list of countries and destinations from which travelers can enter the emirate without the need to go into quarantine.

In the list updated on January 9, 2021, the 'green list' includes Oman, Saudi Arabia, and Kuwait aside from Qatar. Arrivals from the countries, regions, and territories in the list are exempt from quarantine requirements and can enter the destination by following a series of procedures that include COVID-19 tests. The list is updated every two weeks.

According to the Visit Abu Dhabi website, "Travellers to Abu Dhabi will be required to present a valid negative COVID-19 PCR test received within 96 hours prior to their scheduled departure. Upon entering the emirate, travelers will be given a PCR test at the airport and must wait for the negative result to be received. International travelers from countries, regions, and territories on the ‘green’ list, will no longer be required to self-isolate upon receiving a negative result. Travelers from other countries will be required to self-isolate for 10 days only. All travelers will need to take a PCR test on day six for those staying for six days or more, and on day 12 for those staying for 12 days or more."

Since restoring diplomatic ties including the reopening of air, land and sea borders on January 5, there's currently still no news regarding the resumption of flights to UAE from Qatar.

As of MoPH Qatar's green list effective December 18, United Arab Emirates is not included in the list of countries classified as low-risk of COVID-19.

Source: The National News; Visit Abu Dhabi

Cover image: Shutterstock