Sign in Register
Posted On: 14 March 2020 12:03 am
Updated On: 12 November 2020 09:11 am

France, Germany, Spain and Sudan have temporary entry ban to Qatar

Leena Chung
Leena Chung
Discuss here!
Start a discussion

14 March 2020

As part of the precautionary measures taken by the State of Qatar to limit the spread of Coronavirus (COVID-19), and as an extension to previous decisions on suspending travel from designated countries, it has been decided to suspend visa on arrival from a number of European countries, effective 15 March and until further notice.

It has also been decided to temporarily suspend entry to the State of Qatar from the Republic of Sudan. This restriction includes those who are in possession of visa on arrival or a Qatar residence permit.

13 March 2020

4 more countries have been added to the temporary entry suspension list bringing the total to 19 - no person flying in from Germany, Spain, or France will be allowed to enter Qatar.

Spanish Embassy Qatar shared on their Facebook on March 13th, 3pm that a temporary entry ban is applied to Spanish tourists and residents in Qatar.

German Embassy Qatar posted on their Facebook that entry restrictions are applied to travelers coming from Germany and France from 14 March 2020, 24.00 pm as a preventive measure against the spread of the coronavirus.
This applies to short-stay entry as well as holders of Qatar residence permits or work permits. An exception can be obtained from the Qatar employer, but the traveler must first quarantine for 14 days after entering.

French Embassy posted on their website the tourists are temporarily banned, but for QID holders, the possibility of the exception with quarantine will be specified by the Qatari authorities on March 15.

GCO announced 14 countries ban along with Italy on March 8th. With today's announcement, this brings a total of 18 counties that are restricted to enter Qatar.

Source: French Embassy Qatar, German Embassy Qatar, Spanish Embassy Qatar