Sign in Register
Posted On: 15 February 2020 10:27 am
Updated On: 12 November 2020 02:06 pm

Zamalek defeats Esperance to win CAF Super Cup in Qatar

Binu Cherian
Binu Cherian
Discuss here!
Start a discussion

Egypt's Zamalek won on Friday their fourth CAF Super Cup, after defeating Esperance Tunis 3-1, in the match played at Thani bin Jassim in Al Gharafa.

Esperance lost year's Super Cup final as well, after losing to Morocco's Raja Casablanca 1-2. Zamalek won the competition previously in 1994, 1997, and 2003. Esperance lost the final twice on top of the last two years; in 1999 and 2012.

The Egyptian side blitzed Esperance with an early goal in the second minute when Youssef Obama headed a cross into the net. The Tunisian side was shell-shocked by the early goal and could have conceded another. They continued to suffer for the five minutes after the goal. The team's defence was generally error-prone, and it was only thanks to the goalkeeper that they didn't lose by more.

Esperance got a goal against the run of play when the referee resorted to VAR in the 54th minute to give the Tunisian side a penalty. Abelraouf Benguit made no mistake from the spot. Zamalek was destined to win however and took the lead again three minutes later when Ashraf Bencharki benefited from a defensive mistake to wrong-foot the keeper and restore the leader.

The Egyptian side continued to look for a third goal playing a high-line press. The method worked as it forced Esperance players to make a lot of mistakes, none of which however led to a third and Esperance started looking for an equalizer with the game approaching to a close. It was only in the 94th minute and from a counter-attack that Zamalek scored a goal, with Bencharki striking again to give his side the win.

Source: QNA

Image Credit: CGTN Africa