Sign in Register
Posted On: 23 April 2019 10:41 am
Updated On: 12 November 2020 02:20 pm

Akhlaquna award finalists announced by QF

Binu Cherian
Binu Cherian
Discuss here!
Start a discussion

Qatar Foundation (QF) has announced the three finalists for Cycle 2 of its Akhlaquna Award. Voting opens today on the initiative's website, with the winner set to be revealed at QF's Convocation 2019 ceremony in May.

This year's finalists are Future Compass, a summer program created by 15-year-old student Eman Alobaide that sees 25 local organizations providing real-life work experience to young people; Tmakkan, a program established by 19-year-old Reema Al Kuwari, where retired men and women serve as mentors to young Qatari professionals; and Mobsron, a fully-audible mobile application that provides people who are blind and visually impaired with a tool for ordering food, reviewing ingredients, and comparing prices, led by 17-year-old Nawal Al Kurbi.

Machaille Al Naimi, President of Community Development, QF, said: "We are delighted to reveal the finalists for this year's edition of the Akhlaquna Award. The selected projects truly embody the ethos of the award, the ultimate goal of which is to nurture positive behavioral change within society."

The objective of the Akhlaquna Award is to highlight the timeless and universal values exhibited by the Prophet Mohammed (PBUH), who serves as a role model of great moral character and guides the values of the award.

Cycle 2 of the initiative aims to highlight projects that best embody moral values shared across different religions and cultures reflecting Qatar's diverse and multicultural environment while being rooted in Islamic heritage.

The three Cycle 2 finalists were chosen by this years jury members: Amaal Al Mannai, Chief Executive Officer of Qatar Foundation for Social Work; Dr. Jassim Sultan, Director of Wijdan Cultural Center; Dr. Emad El Din Shahin, Dean of the College Of Islamic Studies at Hamad Bin Khalifa University, a member of QF; and Professor Mabrouk Zeid Elkheir, Director of the National Center for Research in Islamic Sciences in Algeria.

The Akhlaquna Award was first announced by HH Sheikha Moza bint Nasser, Chairperson of Qatar Foundation, in 2017, with the winner - Swar Al Dahab Ali - being announced at QF's Convocation 2018 ceremony.

Source: QNA, Image for representation purpose only