Sign in Register
Posted On: 23 April 2022 02:11 pm
Updated On: 23 April 2022 02:42 pm

Government schools in 9 areas allowed to admit expat students

Fareeha Imtiaz
Fareeha Imtiaz
Discuss here!
Start a discussion
Government schools 9 areas allowed admit expat students shutterstock 657496108

As per an article in The Peninsula dated April 23, 2022, The Ministry of Education and Higher Education has appointed nine government schools located in remote areas wherein expatriate students can be registered. Expatriates who are residing in the respective areas may enroll their children in the government schools for the academic year 2022-23.

The reported areas include; Al Shamal City, Dukhan City, Al Karaana, Al Guwairiya, Al Zubra, Al Kharasa, Al Kaaban, Al Jamiliya and Rawdat Rashid.

In a discussion with Qatar Radio, the Education Adviser at the School Affairs Department at the Ministry of Education and Higher Education Rashid Saad Al Mohannadi stated that all the designated schools will be accepting boys and girls of expatriates; except for Rawdat Rashid, which will only accept female students due to a lack of placement provisioning at the boys schools.

The decision to allow placement for expatriate students was due to the lack of private schools in the mentioned remote areas.

It was also reported that typically government school admission is only for the following categories; Qatari students, children of Qatari women, students of other GCC countries, children of non-Qatari working in ministries, government organizations & institutions and children of non-Qatari working with private charity organizations.

The registration dates for the academic year 2022-23 were mentioned to be as follows:

  • Phase 1 - April 24, 2022 till June 9, 2022 - Qatari students, children of Qatari women & students from other GCC countries
  • Phase 2 - May 15, 2022 till May 26, 2022 - All Nationalities

Source: The Peninsula
Cover image credit: Shutterstock