Sign in Register
Posted On: 11 September 2021 09:30 am
Updated On: 11 January 2022 08:42 am

QNB Stars League 2021-2022: Qatar SC vs. Al Ahli

Leena Chung
Leena Chung
Discuss here!
Start a discussion

Event Details:

Location: Saoud Bin Abdulrahman Stadium
Date: 11 September 2021 - 12 September 2021
Time: 11:20 pm - 01:00 am
Ticket Purchase: Online
  • Regular - 10QR
Buy ticket Visit Website

Qatar SC face Al Ahli in Week 1 of the 2021-2022 season QNB Stars League. The kick-off is at 20:20 at the Al Wakrah Stadium on Saturday, 11th September 2021.

Qatar SC hope to finish in the top four this season and have been working strongly with that aim.

The Kings had achieved some good results last season, having displayed strong levels, and competed for the top-four bracket only to miss out on it narrowly and ended up sixth with 32 points.

Brazilian Ze Ricardo has replaced Qatari coach Younes Ali and Qatar SC may even aspire to regain the league title, which they last won in the 2002-2003 season, and would seek to make a turnaround in their fortunes.

They have made a couple of big signings – Spaniard Javi Martinez and Algerian Djamel Belamri.

And Qatar SC had made a positive start to the season by beating Al Khor 2-1 in Round 1 of the Ooredoo Cup.

Al Ahli achieved good success last season (2020-2021). They had made a strong start to their league campaign and topped the standings in the first rounds. However, it was unfortunate that they did not find a place in the top four and thus missed out on a chance to play in the AFC Champions League.

The Brigadiers and Al Gharafa both ended up with 33 points, but The Cheetahs were placed fourth on better goal difference (+7 as against Al Ahli’s -10).

Qatar SC strengthened their ranks with top Spanish player Javi Martinez, Algerian defender Djamel Benlamri and Belgian Isaac Mbenza, and retained the services of Algerian striker Youcef Belaili and Iraqi Bashar Resan.

Al Ahly, who have retained Montenegrin coach Nebojsa Jovovic, added to their ranks Serbian Marko Jectovic, Iranian Hussein Kanaani, Nigerian Patrick Eze and Moroccan Soufiane Bouftini. They retained Paraguayan Hernan Perez.