Sign in Register
Posted On: 30 November 2021 12:56 pm
Updated On: 31 March 2022 02:45 pm

OFC preliminary competition to be played in Qatar in 2022

Discuss here!
Start a discussion

The road to the FIFA World Cup Qatar 2022™ for Oceania Football Confederation (OFC) hopefuls is now set after the completion of the preliminary competition draw held today at the Home of FIFA in Zurich, Switzerland.

The OFC qualifiers will be played in a mini-tournament format featuring eight teams and consisting of a round-robin group stage, semi-finals and the final. Prior to this, a single qualification match will be played between Tonga and the Cook Islands – the two lowest-ranked OFC teams in the FIFA/Coca-Cola World Ranking – for the right to take part in the preliminary competition mini-tournament. All matches will take place in Qatar from 14 to 30 March 2022.

As a result of the draw, the teams were allocated to two groups for the round-robin group stage:

Group A:

  • Solomon Islands
  • Tahiti
  • Vanuatu
  • Tonga or Cook Islands

Group B:

  • New Zealand
  • New Caledonia
  • Fiji
  • Papua New Guinea

Group A is headlined by 2012 continental champions Tahiti and 2004 runners-up Solomon Islands, while a clash between 2016 OFC Nations Cup finalists, New Zealand and Papua New Guinea, awaits in Group B.

The two group winners and the two group runners-up will qualify for the semi-finals. The winners of the two semi-finals will then meet in the final to determine the OFC representative that will face the Concacaf representative in the FIFA intercontinental play-offs in June 2022 for a place in the final competition.

Source: FIFA