Sign in Register
Posted On: 7 June 2023 06:48 pm
Updated On: 7 June 2023 07:14 pm

UK announces £10 (QR 38.97) new travel scheme fee for Qatari & other GCC nationals

Cassandra Pallagud
Cassandra Pallagud
Content Writer
Discuss here!
Start a discussion
Uk 10 euros 38 riyal new travel scheme fee qatari gcc

Nationals from the Gulf Cooperation Council (GCC) states and Jordan will soon only be required to pay £10 (QR 38.97) to apply for an Electronic Travel Authorisation scheme (ETA), which will allow them to visit the UK multiple times over a two-year period.

This is compared to Gulf nationals currently paying £30 per visit to the UK under the current Electronic Visa Wavier (EVW) scheme and Jordanian nationals £100 for a visit visa.

An ETA is a digital permission to travel for those visiting or transiting through the UK who do not need a visa for short stays, or who do not currently hold another UK visa.

The scheme is set to launch for Qatari nationals in October 2023, and for the rest of the Gulf Cooperation Council states and Jordan in February 2024 ahead of a worldwide expansion throughout 2024.

The application process for an ETA will be simple and fast to complete, with the process being entirely digital via a mobile phone app. To apply, individuals will need to provide biographic and biometric details such as a digital photograph and answer a set of suitability questions.

RELATED: Qatari visitors to be the first to apply for UK's new travel scheme

Source: Gov.UK
Cover image credit: Shutterstock