Sign in Register
Posted On: 23 May 2016 09:06 pm
Updated On: 12 November 2020 01:56 pm

Philippine Independence Day in Qatar will gets set on June 3

Mega Cervantes
Mega Cervantes
Discuss here!
Start a discussion

One of the most significant dates in the Philippine’s history is Independence Day

because it marks the nation’s independence from the Spanish rule on June 12,

1898. Filipinos celebrate it annually on June 12.

United Filipino Organizations in Qatar (UFOQ), in partnership with the Philippine

Embassy in Doha, once again will be offering a series of events on June 3,2016

to commemorate the 118th Anniversary of the Declaration of Philippine


The garnd event will feature a cultural showcases, live entertainment, food alley,

marketplace, and car shows and it will be held in the ground of the iconic

Sheraton Hotel in Westbay.

Headlining the grand celebration will be artists appearances from Sam

Concepcion ,Andrea Torres and Enchong Dee.

June 3 is a wonderful time to celebrate family, community and the things that

make our country special.

Invite everyone and join the fun!





For more information and inquiries, please visit the below links:

Philippine’s Independence Day Historical Background:

The annual June 12 observance of Philippine’s Independence Day came into effect after past President Diosdado Macapagal signed the Republic Act No. 4166 regarding this matter on August 4, 1964. This Act legalized the holiday, which is based on the Declaration of Independence on June 12, 1898 by General Emilio Aguinaldo and Filipino revolutionary forces from the Spanish colonization. The Philippines’ flag was raised and its national anthem was played for the first time in 1898. However, liberty was short-lived because Spain and the United States did not recognize the declaration.

The 1898 Treaty of Paris ended the war between Spain and the United States. Spain surrendered the entire archipelago comprising the Philippines to the United States. The Philippines started a revolt against the United States in 1899 and achieved national sovereignty on July 4, 1946, through the Treaty of Manila. Independence Day was officially observed on July 4 until the Republic Act No. 4166, which set out to move the holiday to June 12, was approved on August 4, 1964.

" Happy Independece Day Kabayan"--mega Kiss