Sign in Register
Posted On: 19 August 2019 05:27 pm

Top five things to do in Qatar for book lovers

Sumaica Asad
Sumaica Asad
Discuss here!
Start a discussion
Top-five-things-to-do-in-Qatar-for-book-lovers-2

"So many books, so little time." -Frank Zappa

That's certainly how I feel about my reading life. I cannot help you with this dilemma but what I can do is give you suggestions on what to do in Doha if you love books. And no, reading a book is not on it.

The reading scene in Qatar has transformed in the past few years giving way to published Qatari authors, book launches, book clubs and much more. So ofcourse, I had to do my bit and tell you what you can do in the city.

1. Volunteer with Qatar Reads

Top five things to do in Qatar for book lovers
Image credit: Qatar Reads

Qatar Reads is the national reading campaign; launched in 2016 by Qatar Foundation with the aim of creating an interest and promoting reading in the community. They have done different programs to spread the love for books. They offer a Family Reading Program in which they curate books for kids and deliver straight to your house. What's even more amazing is that they have a volunteer program where you can be a part of Qatar Reads as a storyteller, a workshop facilitator or an events coordinator.

Details
Cost:
Free
Instagram:
Qatar Reads
Website: Qatar Reads
Family Reading Program:
Qatar Reads

2. Go on a blind date with a book

Top five things to do in Qatar for book lovers
Image credit: Book Qat

There are days when you can't decide what to read and you just want to be surprised. For those days, Book Qat is your answer. Book Qat offers books that are wrapped with a short description on the cover about said book. You get to choose a book without knowing the title or seeing the cover image, leading to a wonderful surprise as you open and read the book.

Details
Cost:
QR 62-75
Instagram:
Book Qat
Website:
Book Qat

3. Be a part of Book Fairies

Top five things to do in Qatar for book lovers
Image credit: Book Fairies Worldwide

    In 2017, Emma Watson launched Book fairies, a worldwide project in which people leave books all around town for others to find, read and enjoy. These people then leave the same book somewhere else for another person to find. And so the cycle goes on. The idea was to create a free public lending system which encourages reading and spreads the love. You can become a book fairy yourself by signing up or join the Book fairies Qatar. They are always looking for new people to join them and help leave books around town.

    Details
    Cost:
    Free
    Instagram:
    Book Fairies Worldwide, Book Fairies Qatar
    Website:
    Book Fairies

    4. Read at Volume cafe

    Top five things to do in Doha for book lovers
    Image credit: Volume Cafe

      As a book lover myself, I am always looking for new places to go and read at. There is nothing that a cup of Cappuccino and a good book can’t fix. Volume is an amazing cafe which has an upstairs lounge lined with shelves, filled with books. So while you wait for your cargo containing all your books to arrive, you can go here to satisfy your brain.

      Details
      Location: Volume Cafe
      Timing: 8 am-11 pm, Sat-Wed, 8-1 am, Thu-Fri
      Tel: +974 4476 0914
      Cost: QR 50
      Instagram: Volume

      5. Take a guided tour of QNL

      Top five things to do in Doha for book lovers

        If you are a book lover living in Doha, Qatar National Library must be your weekly destination. What you might not know is that you can book a tour of the library. Roaming around on your own, getting lost in those book shelves is amazing and having a guide walking you through the heritage collection is the cherry on top. You can discover all the hidden cozy spots in the library for when it is crowded.

        Details
        Location:
        Qatar National Library
        Timing:
        Click here
        Tel:
        +974 4454 0100
        Cost: Free
        Instagram:
        Qatar National Library

        Last but not the least, I am leaving you with a bonus option.

        6. Join a book club

        Joining a book club is an excellent way of meeting new like minded people. It’s hard to make friends as expats. But book clubs are a great way of making new friends. There are several book clubs in Qatar but not all of them are open to public. The two book clubs that you can be a part of are Doha Bookworms and English Fiction Book club hosted by QNL. Do tell us if you know of any other book clubs in Doha.

        Cost:
        Free
        Details:
        Doha Bookworms, English Fiction Book club

        What is your favourite book? Let us know in the comments and also, don't forget to like and share this article—it keeps us going!