Sign in Register
Posted On: 27 December 2019 09:36 am
Updated On: 12 November 2020 02:06 pm

Schedule for Qatar Cup 2020 released: QSL

Content Writer
Discuss here!
Start a discussion

The Qatar Stars League released today the schedule of 2020 Qatar Cup, where the top four clubs in the 2018-19 season QNB Stars League (Al Sadd, Al Duhail, Al Sailiya and Al Rayyan in that order) will compete, according to QSL.

The first semifinal between Al Duhail and Al Sailiya will be played on Friday, 10th January, and second semifinal featuring Al Sadd against Al Rayyan on Saturday, 11th January.

The final is scheduled for Friday 17th January 2020

All matches will be played at the Al Sadd Stadium.

In the event of a tie between the teams at the end of regular time, there will be no extra time and penalty shoot-out will be straightaway enforced.

Qatar Cup

Qatar Cup winners Football Championships in Qatar
Image credit: Qatar Football Association

The Qatar Cup was founded in 1964 with the first tournament being held in the 1994 -95 football season as the Heir Apparent Cup, a mark of respect to the rulers of Qatar. In the 2013 / 2014 football season, The Heir Apparent Cup was rebranded as the Qatar Cup to represent Qatar and its people, and today, it’s the pinnacle of the Qatar Stars League.

Known as one of Qatar’s most prestigious events on the football calendar, the Qatar Cup is played on a knock-out format and involves the top four finishing teams of the regular QNB Qatar Stars League football season.

The Qatar Cup is the traditional end of football season championship involving the top four sides in the QSL and is an important opportunity to lift silverware for the sides of the QSL.

Cover image credit: QSL