Sign in Register
Posted On: 7 December 2019 09:47 am
Updated On: 12 November 2020 02:06 pm

Qatar T10 Cricket League starts today

Discuss here!
Start a discussion

The Qatar T10 Cricket League starts Saturday at the Asian City Stadium in Doha for the first time in the region with the participation of the best international players.

The 10-day event is organized by the Qatar Cricket Association (QCA) under President Yousef Jeham Al Kuwari and with the supervision of the International Cricket Council (ICC).

The league will feature six teams including Falcon Hunters, Desert Riders, Flying Oryx, Heat Stormers, Pearl Gladiators, and Swift Gallopers.

The T10 league is the latest in the ICC's calendar to promote the shorter formats of the game.

The participating teams include international cricketers from nearly all the major Test-playing nations besides top string cricketers from Qatar and other Gulf nations.

In remarks on Friday, QCA President Yousef Jeham Al Kuwari said that the organization of the big cricket event in conjunction with the Arabian Gulf Cup and the FIFA Club World Cup confirms Qatar's ability to host more than one international event at one time, adding that this strengthens Qatar's global sports position.

QCA President added that T10 Cricket League is the first its kind in Doha and the region, pointing out that the tournament will contribute to raising the popularity of the sport of cricket to a greater level and open a door for developing the game in Qatar.

Source: Qatar News Agency-QNA

Image Source: