Sign in Register
Posted On: 1 October 2020 01:17 pm
Updated On: 12 November 2020 02:08 pm

Qatar seeded in Pot 4 after 2021 Gold Cup Draw

Content Writer
Discuss here!
Start a discussion

Concacaf conducted the Draw for the 2021 Gold Cup in which 16 teams will look to win Concacaf’s most prestigious national team tournament on 28 September.

The Gold Cup Group Stage, kicking off on July 10, 2021, consists of:

  • 8 teams: Winners and runners-up from each of the four groups in Concacaf Nations League A
  • 4 teams: Winners from each of the four groups in Concacaf Nations League B
  • 3 teams: Preliminary stage qualifiers (see Prelims matchups below)
  • 1 team: Asian Cup champions Qatar as guest from Asian Football Confederation (AFC)

AFC Champions Qatar, who will guest in the competition, will be in the fourth pot with the winning three teams from the preliminary qualifiers which will be played the week before the finals start in July 2021.

Qatar is the seventh guest nation to compete in a Gold Cup and the first since 2005, joining the ranks of Brazil (1996, 1998, 2003), Colombia (2000, 2003, 2005), Peru (2000), Ecuador (2002), South Africa (2005) and South Korea (2000, 2002).

Along with South Korea, Qatar will become the second nation from the AFC to appear in a Gold Cup tournament.

The draw was broadcast live and hosted by Emmy award-winning TUDN sportscaster Lindsay Casinelli and Fox Sports Lead Soccer Analyst and the United States Men’s National Team legend Alexi Lalas.

A number of the national team head coaches participated virtually in the event.

Concacaf Gold Cup Prelims Seeded Teams and Draw Pot

(to qualify three teams via knockout for Gold Cup group stage)

Pre-seeded teams: Haiti, Guatemala, Trinidad and Tobago, Cuba, Guadeloupe and Bermuda

Pot 1: French Guiana, Guyana, St. Vincent and the Grenadines, Barbados, Montserrat and Bahamas

Concacaf Gold Cup Group Stage Draw

Pots (based on August 2020 Concacaf Ranking)

Pot 1 (pre-seeded teams): Mexico (Group A), USA (Group B), Costa Rica (Group C) and Honduras (Group D)

Pot 2: Jamaica, Canada, Panama and El Salvador

Pot 3: Martinique, Curacao, Suriname and Grenada

Pot 4: Three Prelims Winners and Qatar (Group D)

Source and image credit: QFA