Sign in Register
Posted On: 4 December 2019 10:04 am
Updated On: 12 November 2020 02:06 pm

Qatar drawn in Group B for 2020 Copa America, to face defending champion Brazil

Discuss here!
Start a discussion

Qatar will be facing Colombia, Brazil, Venezuela, Ecuador and Peru in the 2020 Copa America. The draw for the 12-nation 2020 CONMEBOL Copa America happened Tuesday, 3 December in Colombia.

Argentina, the co-host, will be opening the tournament on 12 June 2020 with a clash against rival Chile in Buenos Aires. Argentina and Chile are drawn in Group A along with Bolivia, Paraguay, Uruguay, and invitee Austalia, who will be competing in the tournament for the first time.

Group B, where Qatar is drawn, will be hosted by Colombia. The top four teams from each group will face each other during the quarter-finals and the finals will take place 12 July in Barranquilla, Colombia.

Asian Champions Qatar also competed during the 2019 Copa America where Brazil won for the ninth time. Copa America is considered to be the oldest football competition of national teams in the world. It was officially called Copa America in 1975 and in 1993, Conmebol started inviting guest countries to participate so as to complete the tournament structure.


Feature Image: Getty Images