Sign in Register
Posted On: 16 November 2015 02:56 pm
Updated On: 12 November 2020 01:54 pm

Oryx Rotana holds annual swimming competition for the third year in a row

Discuss here!
Start a discussion

Oryx Rotana, the five star luxury business hotel in Doha, held its swimming competition for the third year in a row earlier this month. Participants had the opportunity to showcase their talents and enjoy the sunny day by the pool with friends and family.

The competition kicked off at 6.30 am and lasted till 10.00 am, where participants in five age groups took part: nine years and less, 11 years, 13 years, 15 years and 16 years & above. The competition included categories like individual medley, freestyle, backstroke, breaststroke, and butterfly.

On this occasion, Lana Jwainat, Cluster Director of Marketing and Communications at Oryx Rotana and Rotana City Center said, “We were pleased to see a large turnout of participants during the recently held annual swimming contest. Our goal has always been to make the day enjoyable and to add an element of suspense as well. Moreover, parents were invited to spend quality time with their children and motivate them to showcase their talents in sports. Both youngsters as well as adults who like to challenge themselves were invited to win and earn medals. Participants were also offered the opportunity to improve their skills in swimming with the help of skilled trainers, in addition to the chance to win valuable prizes.”

At the end of the competition, all winners and participants from different categories were announced. Abha Vijy Harne (girls) and Ravindu Pamodh Horanage (boys) emerged winners in the 9 years and below category. In the 11-years old category, Ananya Navaneeth & Shenoa Zenos Sarkari (girls) and Jos Aiser Jacinto (boys) were declared winners. Meanwhile, Chiara Sarah Reyland (girls) and Daanish Khan (boys) were announced winners in the 13-years old category.

Ushara De Silva (boys) and Shreya Manoj (girls) won in the 15-year old category, where Francesca Fernandes won the senior girls category. Ushara De Silva dominated the senior boys category and was the overall 2015 champion.