Sign in Register
Posted On: 28 October 2019 09:46 am
Updated On: 12 November 2020 02:05 pm

FINA Swimming World Cup to take place from November 7 to 9

Binu Cherian
Binu Cherian
Discuss here!
Start a discussion

The Qatar Swimming Association (QSA) stepped up its preparations for the seventh round of FINA Swimming World Cup 2019 to be held at the Hamad Aquatic Centre, Aspire Zone next month.

The competition, which will take place from November 7 to 9, will be the last meet of the FINA Swimming World Cup 2019 series, involving seven cities.

It will be the eighth consecutive year for Doha to host a FINA Swimming World Cup event.

Qatari capital, home to the FINA World Swimming Championships in 2014, will also host the FINA World Aquatics Championships in 2023 the sport's spotlight event.

The FINA Swimming World Cup 2019 series started in Tokyo (JPN) while Jinan (CHN) and Singapore (SGP) hosted the next two meets, forming cluster 1. Cluster 2 involved stops in Budapest (HUN) and Berlin (GER).

The stop in Berlin, which was held from October 11 to 13, witnessed Dutchman Arno Kamminga surpassing Russia's Vladimir Morozov to win the second cluster. In the women's events, Australia's Cate Campbell surpassed Hungary's Katinka Hosszu to win the cluster, taking an overall lead in the series.

Swimmers will come to Doha after competing in the Kazan (RUS) meet, the first stop of the third and final cluster, which will take place from November 1 to 3.

Source: QNA

Photo credit: Inside the Games