Sign in Register
Posted On: 16 October 2020 01:38 pm
Updated On: 12 November 2020 02:08 pm

Doha to host AFC Champions League final on 19 December

Content Writer
Discuss here!
Start a discussion

The Asian Football Confederation (AFC) and the Qatar Football Association (QFA), have confirmed that Doha will be the venue for this year’s AFC Champions League single-leg Final. The final will take place on 19 December 2020.

According to the AFC, QFA met all the necessary hosting capabilities, capacity and medical infrastructure to host the Final of Asia’s premier club tournament.

The AFC General Secretary Dato’ Windsor John, said (QFA):

“The COVID-19 pandemic has undoubtedly made the decision on the venue for this year’s Final more complex particularly in these uncertain times of travel and health restrictions.
“In addition to the numerous restrictions, the AFC also wanted to protect the important principle of sporting fair play. This will be, unlike previous years, a one-off final and we therefore needed to ensure that there was no unfair advantage to one team or the other.
“The safety and wellbeing of all participating clubs as well as the protection of all stakeholders has been crucial to the AFC so we must thank the Qatar Football Association and the Qatar Local Authorities and Ministries for putting in place the necessary health measures and effective medical protocols.
The successful staging of the AFC Champions League (West) is testament to the capability of the QFA and the Qatar Government and we now look forward to building on the spirit of collaboration as we prepare to resume the captivating action from the East Group Stage to the Final.”

The AFC also considered if Qatar would be able to deliver requirements like the Video Assistant Referee technical arrangements, medical requirements and commercial obligations.

The QFA Secretary-General Mansoor Mohammed Al-Ansari, said (QFA):

“Given the success of hosting the centralised West region matches in close collaboration with the AFC, and the preparation for the centralised East matches next month, we are confident that we will be able to deliver an outstanding AFC Champions League Final.
Qatar wishes to reiterate our commitment to provide world-class sporting infrastructure and operational and health and safety expertise and we look forward towards working hand-in-hand with the AFC to offer Asia’s best clubs with the ultimate stage in December.”

The AFC Champions League East region Group Stage will kick-off on 18 November while the Round of 16 will be on 6 -7 December. The Knockout Stage will start with the Quarter-finals on 10 December and the Semi-final will be on 13 December.

Cover image credit and source: QFA