Sign in Register
Posted On: 5 December 2019 10:01 pm
Updated On: 12 November 2020 02:06 pm

Bahrain, Saudi Arabia to advance to the 24th Gulf Cup finals on December 8

Discuss here!
Start a discussion

In a shocking turn of events, Bahrain and Saudi Arabia will face each other on Sunday, 8 December at Khalifa International Stadium.

Bahrain went on to tie 2-2 with Iraq until the second half which resulted in a penalty shootout-out with Bahrain ending the game with a score 5 - 3. Saudi won against Qatar with 1-0, with Abdulla Al Hamdan as the Man of the Match scoring the only goal of the game.

Bahrain, one of the founders of the Gulf Cup, has not won any Gulf Cup championship although finished as runners up four times. Saudi Arabia, on the other hand, has won the cup three times.

Saudi Arabia, UAE, and Bahrain made a last-minute decision to join the 24th Arabian Gulf Cup in Qatar despite their earlier decision to boycott the tournament and the ongoing blockade they have imposed on the country since 2017. This is the fourth time that Qatar has hosted the Gulf Cup tournament.

Image Source: Getty Images