Sign in Register
Posted On: 8 April 2014 11:52 am
Updated On: 12 November 2020 01:51 pm

Al Shamal Crowned 2014 Qatargas League Champions

Discuss here!
Start a discussion
Qatar Football Association (QFA) and Qatargas crowned Al Shamal as champions of the Qatargas League, after leading the season and collecting a total of 44 points. Al Shahaniya claimed the second place after winning their match against Al Sadd with a score of 7-0 which lead to raising their points to a total of 35 points. Third placed team was Al Arabi after winning against Al Khor with a score of 6-1 and increasing their total points to 33 points. The second division clubs, Al Shamal and Al Shahaniya, have ascended to Qatar Stars League and will compete as first division clubs starting next season. The match was attended by hundreds of Al Shamal fans, Qatargas employees, and QFA officials. Qatargas League began on 21st September, 2013 and concluded on Monday 7th April, 2014. Organised by the Qatari football governing body QFA, the first edition of the Qatargas League held in Qatargas’ winter camp in the sealine area, and witnessed the participation of 12 local teams. Commenting on the occasion, Saoud Al Mohannadi, Vice President of QFA said: “We would like to congratulate Al Shamal on winning this key tournament and the efforts they have put in to win it. We would like to also congratulate xx and xx for winning second and third place respectively. This season has been significant for some of the second division teams as Al Shamal and Al Shahaniya have ascended to Qatar Stars League. This tournament illustrates QFA’s objective to constantly have a direct impact on the development of first and second division football.” He added: “We are very proud to have organised this league with Qatargas and look forward to working with them on future joint projects that feed into the development of football across the country. Ghanim Al-Kuwari, Qatargas Chief Operating Officer-Administration said: “We would like to congratulate Al Shamal and Al Shahaniya clubs for winning and advancing to the Qatar Stars League and wish them success. Our support to this tournament is part of Qatargas’ support to sports in general and football in particular due its immense popularity in Qatar. We are hopeful that our partnership with the Qatar Football Association through the Qatargas League will contribute to enhancing the development of football in Qatar, especially as the country is getting ready to host the World Cup in 2022. We would like to congratulate QFA for organizing a fantastic tournament and thank them for providing us the opportunity to be part of it. We look forward to continuing our cooperation in the years to come that will ultimately benefit football and our emerging talents in this important game.” The Qatargas League kick-started on 21st September, 2013 and matches were played in 9 different stadia including Al Sadd, Qatar, Al Gharrafa, Al Rayyan, Lekhwiya, Al Arabi, Al Wakrah, Al Khor, and Al Sailiya. The Qatargas League has been played according to a standard league format where two teams from the second division will ascend to Qatar Stars League (QSL) based on their ranking, whilst the 13th and 14th place teams in QSL will be relegated directly from QSL to Qatargas League. - ILQ News -