Sign in Register
Posted On: 15 July 2020 09:45 am
Updated On: 12 November 2020 02:07 pm

AFC nominates Qatar's coach Sanchez among greatest AFC Asian Cup coaches

Khadiza Begum
Khadiza Begum
Content Writer
Discuss here!
Start a discussion

The Asian Football Confederation (AFC) nominated the coach of the Qatar national football team, Felix Sanchez, to be among the list of greatest coaches in the history of the Asian Cup after winning the 2019 edition, as part of voting launched by the Federation on its official website.

In the 64-year history of the tournament, only 16 men have won the AFC Asian Cup as a head coach, with countless other talented tacticians trying, and failing, to get their hands on Asian football's greatest prize.

Few observers penciled Qatar in as pre-tournament favorites for the 2019 AFC Asian Cup, but the Felix Sanchez-led side produced a superb month of football to claim a dominant maiden title in the United Arab Emirates.

In the first-ever 24-team AFC Asian Cup, the Qataris were untouchable - winning all seven of their matches, scoring 19 goals and conceding just one as Almoez Ali and Akram Afif dazzled the Continent with a series of brilliant performances.

With Asian glory achieved, Snchez is now tasked with leading Qatar at their first FIFA World Cup, which the West Asian will host in 2022.

The list also included Khalil Al Zayani of KSA winner of 1984 edition, Mohammad Ranjbar or Iran winner of 1972 edition, Heshmat Mohajerani of Iran winner of 1976 edition, Carlos Alberto Parreira of Brazil winner of 1980 edition with Kuwait and 1988 edition with Saudi Arabia, Ange Postecoglou of Australia winner of 2015 edition, Zico of Brazil winner of 2004 edition, Philippe Troussier of France winner of 2000 edition. Jorvan Vieira of Brazil winner of 2007 edition, and Alberto Zaccheroni of Italy winner of 2011 edition.

Source: Qatar News Agency