Sign in Register
Posted On: 3 December 2015 09:39 am
Updated On: 12 November 2020 01:55 pm

100 of the world’s best ultrarunners to compete in the 1st edition of the IAU 50km World Championships in Aspire Zone on Friday

Discuss here!
Start a discussion

Aspire Zone Foundation will be holding a press conference on Thursday to reveal the details of the first edition of the International Association of Ultrarunners (IAU) 50km World Championship, which will be taking place this upcoming Friday, December 4th 2015, at Aspire Zone.

Spokespeople present at the press conference will include Mr. Abdullah Al Khater, Events Manager at Aspire Zone Foundation; Mr. Nadeem Khan, IAU Director of Communications; and Mr. Mohammad Sulaiman, Assistant Secretary General of the Qatar Athletics Federation.

The race will feature more than 100 of the world’s best ultrarunners, as selected by their respective national federations. Strong competition is expected for the championship title between Zachary Ornelas, Harm Sengers, Shingirai Badza, Camille Herron, Kelly-Ann Varey, Marija Vrajić, and other world champions.

The participating runners represent 20 countries including Argentina, Austria, Brazil, Canada, Croatia, Germany, the United Kingdom, Ireland, Japan, Jordan, Kenya, Latvia, Mongolia, Holland, Norway, Serbia, Sierra Leon, Taipei, the United States, and Zimbabwe. They will be split into the following categories: individual male/female, team male/female.

Simultaneously, Aspire Zone will also host the third edition of the “Aspire International 6:50 Race”, which will take place during the IAU international race weekend with the participation of 12 Qatari runners alongside 250 registered resident runners from 44 countries. This unique event gives local enthusiasts the opportunity to run alongside IAU professional ultrarunners.

Furthermore, a fan zone will be set up at the race site, which will include a number of activities and competitions for children and families.

It is worth noting that this championship is officially accredited by the IAU and will be hosted by Aspire Zone annually through to 2017.

Please visit for rules and regulations, registration and for further information.