Sign in Register
Posted On: 9 November 2020 04:06 pm
Updated On: 12 November 2020 02:22 pm

Shura Council holds 2nd meeting of 49th session, forms five committees

Vrinda Abilash
Vrinda Abilash
Discuss here!
Start a discussion

The Shura Council held Monday the second meeting of its 49th session, under the chairmanship of H.E. the Speaker of the council Ahmed bin Abdullah bin Zaid Al Mahmoud.

The council began the meeting by reviewing the speech of H.H. the Amir at the opening of the 49th session that took place last Tuesday. Members expressed their appreciation of H.H. the Amir's praise of the Shura Council's role on the regional and international levels, most prominently organizing the 7th Global Conference of Parliamentarians against Corruption in Doha (GOPAC). H.H. the Amir also congratulated the council on electing H.E. Ahmed bin Abdullah bin Zaid Al Mahmoud as Chairman of the organization. The members also highlighted the praise of H.H. the Amir of the council's efforts in reaching an agreement with the United Nations to establish a UN Counter-terrorism office for parliamentarians in Doha, that would be concerned with enhancing the role of parliamentarians all over the world. The members also welcomed the announcement made by H.H. the Amir to hold Shura Council elections in October of next year, describing it as another achievement under the leadership of His Highness that will advance the work of the council, enhance popular participation in the decision-making process, support development efforts, and bolster stability. The members also praised the content of H.H. the Amir's speech, saying it was comprehensive with clear objectives regarding the future and the commitment to implementing developmental programs and projects, in addition to renewing the State of Qatar's position regionally and internationally, particularly the Palestinian cause. H.H. the Amir reiterated the State of Qatar's position of supporting the rights of Palestinians, including establishing an independent state on the borders of 1967 with East Al Quds as its capital, in addition to reaching a just solution to the issue of refugees in line with international resolutions.

H.E. the Speaker issued a directive to refer the speech to the council's committees to design its objectives into programs that will contribute to achieving those objectives.

The council formed five committees, they are:

The Legal and Legislative Affairs Committee with the membership of Nasser bin Rashid Al Kaabi, Rashid bin Hamad Al Maadadi, Youssef bin Rashid Al Khater, Nasser bin Khalil Al Jaidah, Abdulrahman bin Youssef Al Khulaifi, Aisha bint Youssef Al Mannai, Mohammed bin Ali Al Henzab, Abdullatif bin Mohammed Al Sada.

The Financial and Economic Affairs Committee with the membership of Nasser bin Rashid bin Sarea Al Kaabi, Mohammed bin Khalid Al Ghanem, Nasser bin Suleiman Al Haidar, Abdullah bin Khalid Mohammed Al Jabor Al Nuaimi, Dahlan bin Jamaan Bashir Al Hamad, Ali bin Abdullatif Mohammed Al Mohannadi, Nasser bin Sultan bin Nasser Al Humaidi, Khalid bin Abdullah Rashid Al Buainain, Dr. Hind bint Abdulrahman Mohammed Mubarak Al Muftah, Fahd bin Mohammed Fahd Saad Bozwair, Saleh bin Abdullah Mohammed Al Ibrahim Al Mannai, Mohammed bin Ali Sultan Al Ali Al Maadheed, Reem bint Mohammed Rashid Al Mansouri.

The Services and Public Utilities Committee with the membership of Hadi bin Saad Al Khayareen, Ismail bin Mohammed Shareef Al Emadi, Youssef bin Ahmed Ali Omran Al Kuwari, Khalifa bin Ali Khalifa Al Hitmi, Nasser bin Salmeen Khalid Al Suwaidi, Mohammed bin Mahdi Al Ahbabi, Mubarak bin Saif Al Mansouri, Khalid bin Mohammed Ajaj Al Kubaisi, Mohammed bin Mansour Al Shahwani.

The Internal and External Affairs Committee with the membership of Ibrahim bin Khalifa Al Nasr, Nasser bin Ahmed Al Malki, Dr. Youssef bin Mohammed Youssef Al Obaidan, Abdulrahman bin Youssef Al Khulaifi, Dahlan bin Jamaan Bashir Al Hamad, Abdulaziz bin Mohammed Abdullah Al Attiyah, Mohammed bin Mahdi Ajian Al Ahbabi, Khalid bin Abdullah Al Buainain, Abdullah bin Fahd Ghorab Al Marri, Abdullatif bin Mohammed Al Sada, Dr. Hind bint Abdulrahman Mubarak Al Muftah.

The Cultural and Information Affairs Committee with the membership of Rashid bin Hamad Al Maadadi, Abdullah bin Khalid Al Mana, Saqr bin Fahd Al Muraikhi, Ahmed bin Khalifa Al Rumaihi, Abdullah bin Khalid Al Nuaimi, Dr. Hessa bint Sultan Al Jaber.

Source: QNA
Cover image source: The Shura Council