Sign in Register
Posted On: 9 February 2010 02:54 pm
Updated On: 12 November 2020 02:10 pm

More than 10,000 visit food festival

Paper Boy
Paper Boy
Discuss here!
Start a discussion
More than 10,000 visitors enjoyed the variety of gastronomic delights prepared by 48 of Qatar’s best restaurants at the festival over the three days food fest. Qatar Tourism Authority (QTA) had organised the First Doha Food Festival as part of the celebration of Doha as the Capital of Arab Culture for 2010, and to bring new exciting events to the people in Qatar and regional visitors. In addition to the different foods on offer, music, entertainment and activities for both children and adults were available for a truly festive family event. H.E. Dr Hamad bin Abdulaziz Al Kuwari, Minister of Culture, Arts and Heritage and Ahmed Al Nuaimi, Chairman of Qatar Tourism Authority opened the exhibition on February 4. Mykonos, the Greek-Mediterranean restaurant at the InterContinental Doha was named ‘Doha’s Best Restaurant’ at the closing ceremony of the First Doha Food Festival on Saturday. The title was bestowed considering the public votes, sale of coupons their dishes, interaction with the public as well as overall atmosphere at the stand. Eva Wallbruch, Food and Beverage Sales Manager of the InterContinental Doha, received the award on behalf of the hotel from Lahdan Al Mohannadi, Head of Local Exhibitions, QTA and Walid Charbel, Head of Finance Department. The closing day also witnessed raffle draw for a round trip airfare ticket on Qatar Airways. Other prizes included a one night stay with breakfast for four at the Movenpick Tower and Suites, hotel vouchers for QR1000 from the W-Hotel, dinner for four at the Movenpick Tower and Suites. La Cigale, InterContinental Doha, Marriott Doha, Pepsi Cola and Al Watinya restaurant group also contributed vouchers to the raffle draw. Tasneem Ahmed Nassar (coupon number 1613), Musteak (1581), Anualf L. (20799), Martyn (25295), Rommer Argnelle (16408), Evannesa Dinyan (21587), Mohd Al Sharif (14577), Priyane Kent (8082), Ahmed Raaft (17084), Samir Al Sibaii (1668), Rahmani Al Mahadi (18645), Majid Mazeed Al Mulla (26927), Manal Ahmed Galib (2851), Dema Jamal Nasir (27560), Noor Jahan Mohd Ali (28036) and Siit Raudaah Shalma (716) are the winners of various prizes.