Sign in Register
Posted On: 16 September 2016 07:26 am
Updated On: 12 November 2020 02:16 pm

Database on public parks launched

Discuss here!
Start a discussion

The Ministry of Municipality and Environment has launched a comprehensive database on public parks in Qatar, which can be accessed at the ministry’s website.

The database in Arabic includes names of 49 public parks and gardens in different municipalities in the country, with detailed information about their location and facilities. Visitors can also access photographs of each park as they surf the link

Doha municipality has the highest number of parks (22) followed by Al Rayyan municipality (12). Al Khor-Dakhira, Al Wakra and Al Shamal municipalities have four parks each. Umm Salal has one park while Al Daain municipality has two parks.

Public parks in Doha include Al Remaila (formerly Al Bida), Dahl Al Hammam, Dafna (formerly Sheraton Park), Bu Samra, Museum, Old Ghanim, Onaiza, Al Mamoura, Al Ghariya, North Medinat Khalifa, South Medinat Khalifa, New Salata, Frij Al Ali, Nuaija, Al Marona, Muroob, Klaib, Park 65 and Park 67.

Parks in Rayyan include Al Laqta, Bu Hamour, Al Gharafa, Muaidir, New Rayyan, Al Sailiya, Az Ghawee, New Al Gharafa, Al Jumaila, Muaidir Park 1 and Rayyan Park 11. The four parks in Al Wakrah municipality are Al Wakra Public Park, Al Uwaina, Al Jaww and Ghasham. The parks in Al Khor-Dakhira municipality are Al Khor park, Al Khor Corniche, Al Dhakira and Al Kabaan city park.

Umm Salal also has four parks — Ain Sinan, Al Shamal city park, Aba Daloof and Al Ruwais.

Al Kharitiyat is the sole park in Umm Salal while Al Daain has two parks — Laibib and Al Kheesa.

Al Shihania Municipality has no parks.

The ministry has shared a link of the database on its Facebook page inviting people to spend leisure time in parks across the country during weekends. (Source)