Sign in Register
Posted On: 19 July 2017 12:00 am
Updated On: 12 November 2020 02:17 pm

After 13 demands, 4 Arab states now ask Qatar to commit to six principles

ILQ Staff
ILQ Staff
Discuss here!
Start a discussion

After Qatar's rejection of the list of 13 demands in order to end the Gulf crisis, the four Arab nations now have a new ask. They want Qatar to comply with six principles on "combating terrorism and extremism." The UN Ambassador of Saudi Arabia reportedly said that the four Arab nations are committed to the six principles and are hoping that Qatar will be, too.

According to Al Jazeera, these are the six principles:

- Commitment to combat extremism and terrorism in all their forms and to prevent their financing or providing havens.

- Suspending all acts of provocation and speeches inciting hatred or violence.

- Full compliance with the Riyadh Agreement of 2013 and the supplementary agreement and its implementation mechanisms of 2014 within the framework of the Gulf Cooperation Council.

- Adherence to all the outcomes of the Arab Islamic American Summit held in May 2017 in Riyadh.

- Refraining from interfering in the internal affairs of states and from supporting illegal entities.

- The responsibility of all states of the international community to confront all forms of extremism and terrorism as a threat to international peace and security.

What do you think of this latest development? Let us know in the comments below. Don't forget to give us a like and a share—it keeps us going!