Sign in Register
Posted On: 24 May 2017 06:26 am
Updated On: 12 November 2020 01:58 pm

World Stadium Congress awards best in the industry followed by legacy in focus on day two of the conference

Discuss here!
Start a discussion
Screen Shot 2017-05-24 at 6.32.33

The 4th edition of the World Stadium Congress Awards, held at the Westin Doha on 22 May as part of the World Stadium Congress, once again recognised the best in the industry.

This year’s judging panel included industry experts Philipp Herpel, Managing Director at HFP, Mark Fenwick, Partner at Fenwick Iribarren Architects, and Chris Dite, Associate Director, Sport Venue

Design and Major Events at Arup.

The awards received nominations from over 20 organisations across 6 different categories with the eventual winners decided by the independent judging panel as follows:

· Award for the Best New Stadium or Arena:

o Tekfen Construction and Heerim Architects and Planners for the Baku Olympic Stadium

· Future Sporting Venue Award:

o VTB Arena

· Award for Innovative Solution of the Year:

o Futbol Club Barcelona

· Award for Stadium Consultant of the Year:

o ASTAD Project Management

· Award for Stadium Contractor of the Year:

o Polimeks Construction Company for the Ashgabat Olympic Stadium

· Award for Stadium Design of the Year:

o Hazza bin Zayed Stadium

The winners were announced during the official awards ceremony and gala dinner that was hosted by Vodafone Qatar on day one of the conference.