Sign in Register
Posted On: 1 May 2019 04:20 pm
Updated On: 12 November 2020 10:18 am

Here's everything you need to know about Amir Cup

Khadiza Begum
Khadiza Begum
Content Writer
Discuss here!
Start a discussion

For a young member of the FIFA fraternity, Qatar has gained significant football achievements in a very short period of time. The football-loving country’s biggest achievement is winning the rights to host the 2022 FIFA World Cup following a historic FIFA vote in 2010.

Football in Qatar was first introduced in the late 1940s and developed rapidly in the 1950s with Doha Stadium becoming the first proper football venue in the Gulf region. In 1973, the historic Doha Stadium hosted the legendary Mohamed Ali and Brazilian World Cup hero Pele as the two regaled fans with their world-famous sporting skills.

(Amir Cup 2019, Photo credit: Qatar Football Association)

Fast forward to the 70s and the 80s, Qatar quickly established itself as a growing centre for football activities. In the 70s, Qatar built the Khalifa International Stadium – which would in time become the country’s iconic sports venue hosting some of the most popular football matches and tournaments.

Qatar has now several football cups, for example, Qatar Cup, Amir Cup, Sheikh Jassim Cup, Second Division Cup, and QSL Cup. Today we will talk about Amir Cup, so scroll all the way down to know more about this most favourite football cup competition in the country.

History of the Amir Cup

The Amir Cup is the most popular and biggest football tournament in Qatar. This prestigious cup was first played in 1972-73 and was won by Al Ahli. The event is contested every season by 17 QNB Stars League and Second Division teams. The most successful team are Al Sadd who won the tournament 16 times followed by Al Arabi who have bagged the title on 8 occasions. Al Duhail are the defending champions.

(During the Amir Cup 2017 match between Al Sadd SC and Al Rayyan SC at The Khalifa Stadium )

Since it was first played in the early 70s, the Amir Cup has undergone a few changes In 1999, it was decided to include Second Division sides along with the top tier teams playing for Qatar national league title. In 2004, the tournament was planed in such a manner that the event would last five stages.

Competition Format

Matches are played in the knock-out format. Winners from each round proceed to the next round. If a match ends in a draw, competing teams will resort to penalty shoot-outs to determine the winner.

2019 Emir Cup

The 47th Emir Cup consists of five rounds. The first round took place on April 11, the second round on April 20 and 21, third round on April 26 and 27, fourth round on May 2 and 3, fifth round on May 11 and 12 and the final match will take place on May 16. Al Wakrah Stadium a FIFA World Cup Qatar 2022 tournament venue - will be inaugurated when it hosts the 2019 Amir Cup final on May 16. Al Wakrah Stadium is the second Qatar 2022 venue to be delivered by the SC following the successful redevelopment of Khalifa International Stadium, which was inaugurated in 2017 when it hosted that year's Amir Cup final between Al Sadd and Al Rayyan.

(Amir Cup 2019, Photo credit: Qatar Football Association)
(Amir Cup 2019, Photo credit: Qatar Football Association)

Tickets for the 2019 Amir Cup final are already available to buy, either online at or from a host of outlets across the country, including Villagio Mall, Mall of Qatar, Doha Festival City, City Center, Souq Waqif and Ezdan Mall, Al Wakrah. Tickets are available in four categories and priced between QAR 20 and QAR 100. Tickets will remain on sale until 15 May.

Previous Winners

May 19, 2017: During the Amir Cup match between Al Sadd SC and Al Rayyan SC at The Khalifa Stadium
(During the Amir Cup 2017 match between Al Sadd SC and Al Rayyan SC at The Khalifa Stadium)

1990/91: Al Sadd 1-0 Al-Rayyan

1991/92: Al Ahli 2-1 Al Rayyan

1992/93: Al Arabi 3-0 Al Sadd

1993/94: Al Sadd 3-2 Al Arabi

1994/95: Al-Ittihad 2-1 Al Wakrah Club

1995/96: Al-Ittihad 5-2 Al-Rayyan

1996/97: Al-Ittihad 1-1 Al-Rayyan (aet, 3-2 pens)

1997/98: Al-Ittihad 4-3 Al Ahli

1998/99: Al Rayyan 2-1 Al-Gharrafa

1999/00: Al Sadd 2-0 Al-Rayyan

2000/01: Al Sadd 3-2 Qatar SC

2001/02: Al-Ittihad 4-1 Al Sadd

2002/03: Al Sadd 2-1 Al Ahli

2003/04: Al Rayyan 3-2 Qatar SC

2004/05: Al Sadd 0-0 Al Wakrah Club (aet, 5-4 pens)

2005/06: Al Rayyan 1-1 Al-Gharafa (aet, 5-3 pens)

2006/07: Al Sadd 0-0 Al-Khor (aet, 5-4 pens)

2007/08: Umm-Salal Sports Club 2-2 Al-Gharafa (aet, 4-1 pens)

2009: Al-Gharafa 2-1 Al Rayyan

2010: Al Rayyan 1-0 Umm-Salal Sports Club

2011: Al Rayyan 2-1 Al-Gharafa

2012: Al-Gharafa 0-0 Al-Sadd SC (aet, 5-4 pens)

2013: Al Rayyan 2-1 Al-Sadd SC

2014: Al-Sadd SC 3-0 Al-Sailiya

2015: Al-Sadd SC 2-1 El Jaish

2016: Lekhwiya SC 2-2 Al-Sadd SC (aet, 4-2 pens)

2017: Al-Sadd SC 2-1 Al Rayyan

2018: Al-Duhail 2-1 Al Rayyan

Source: Qatar Football Association