Sign in Register
Posted On: 29 June 2021 01:02 pm
Updated On: 1 July 2021 10:50 am

[UPDATED] Sri Lanka temporarily bans passengers from Gulf countries, including Qatar from 1 July 2021

Vrinda Abilash
Vrinda Abilash
Discuss here!
Start a discussion

[UPDATE] 30 June 2021; 11:00 pm

The disembarkation ban imposed on passengers with recent travel history to Saudi Arabia, United Arab Emirates, Qatar, Kuwait, Bahrain, and Oman during the last 14-days has been lifted subject to several conditions, according to Newswire Sri Lanka.

The Civil Aviation Authority of Sri Lanka (CAASL) announced on 29 June 2021 a two-week travel ban on passengers from the above-mentioned countries. Meanwhile, the Government explained that a high number of passengers from the Middle East testing positive for COVID-19 upon arrival in Sri Lanka was the key reason to impose the travel ban, starting from 1st July.

However, the CAASL has revoked its previous decision on imposing a ban on passengers from several Gulf countries, based on certain conditions.

Full statement by Director General of the CAASL Capt. Themiya Abeywickrama:


Subject: Removal of restrictions for arrivals from Middle Eastern Countries subject to certain conditions.

I refer to my directive dated 28th June 2021, imposing restrictions on 6 Middle Eastern countries.

In according with instructions received from the Ministry of Health and the National Operations Centre for Prevention of COVID-19 Outbreak (NOCPCO) the passenger restriction on the following 6 Countries (Qatar, Oman, Bahrain, United Arab Emirates, Saudi Arabia, Kuwait) is revoked with immediate effect on the following conditions:

• All arriving passengers must have a negative PCR Test obtained within 96 hours prior to departure. Airline to ensure this before boarding passengers.

• Antigen tests cannot be accepted as a pre-departure test for boarding.

• PCR test must be presented from a Government approved hospital/laboratory in the respective Country with a QR Code/Bar Code.

• Airlines must satisfy themselves of the authenticity of the test reports presented by the passengers.

• Passengers are permitted to arrive only for Hotel Quarantine or through the Sri Lanka Tourism Bio-Bubble Route.

The above conditions will apply until further notice.


The Civil Aviation Authority of Sri Lanka in a Tweet has announced that it has decided to temporarily ban passengers from Gulf countries.

The authority said, “In accordance with instructions received from the National Operations Centre for Prevention of COVID- 19 Outbreak (NOCPCO) Task Force, due to the Covid-19 pandemic situation all online and offline airlines are hereby directed that passengers with a travel history in the past 14 days to Qatar, United Arab Emirates, Saudi Arabia, Oman, Bahrain, and Kuwait will not be permitted to disembark in Sri Lanka with effect from 0001hrs on 1st July 2021 (local time in Sri Lanka). This restriction will be in force until 2359hrs on 13th July 2021 (local time in Sri Lanka).”

Source: Civil Aviation Authority of Sri Lanka, Newswire Sri Lanka
Cover image credit: Civil Aviation Authority of Sri Lanka