Here are 24 new destinations you’ll be able to fly to with Qatar Airways!

Nushrat421's picture

By Nushrat Anjum

In a reflection of strength, Qatar Airways has announced new flight routes for 2017/2018 amidst the ongoing GCC crisis. As blockading countries have banned Qatar from entering their airspace -- hypothetically limiting its travel routes, Qatar Airways’ latest destinations include direct flights to all points of the globe -- from San Francisco to Medan, Indonesia.


(Image courtesy: Qatar Airways)

International Air Transport rating group Skytrax has declared Qatar Airways as the 2017  Airline of the Year. The airline currently owns around 106 Airbus passenger fleet aircraft, 73 Boeing passenger fleet craft, and 21 cargo fleets -- this includes the Airbus A350 XWB which is the most modern wide-body aircraft in use today. This Airbus not only provides excellent comfort to its passengers, it’s also environmentally-friendly! Its engines are the lowest CO2 emitters among all wide-body aircraft.

Qatar Airways Group Chief Executive, His Excellency Mr. Akbar Al Baker said: “Qatar Airways offers the world the best network, the best on-board experience, and the best connecting experience at Hamad International Airport. We operate the world’s youngest fleet, averaging just five years-old, and we fly the most technologically-advanced aircraft that provide our passengers with an award-winning experience. Our intention is to ensure our passengers can choose Qatar Airways for all of their travel needs – whether they’re flying on business, for pleasure, or a combination of both.” 

(Image courtesy: Qatar Airways)

With some new routes just launched recently and many more frequent flights to come -- exactly where are these new destinations you ask? Well for starters, daily flights to Amsterdam have just begun operating with their Boeing B777-300ER aircraft, and on June 12, 2017 the first Qatar Airways flight touched down its first daily flight to Dublin.

Here’s the full list of what new destinations are in store:


  • Nice, France – (Five times weekly from July 4)

  • Dublin, Ireland – (Daily from June 12)

  • Skopje, Macedonia – (Four times weekly from July 17)      

  • Chiang Mai, Thailand – (Four times weekly)

  • Sarajevo, Bosnia – (Four times weekly)

  • Douala, Cameroon – (Three times weekly)

  • Libreville, Gabon – (Three times weekly)

  • Medan, Indonesia – (Four times weekly)

  • Las Vegas, United States – (Four times weekly)

  • Canberra, Australia – (Daily)

  • Santiago, Chile – (Four times weekly)

  • Rio de Janeiro, Brazil – (Four times weekly)

  • San Francisco, United States

  • Cardiff, United Kingdom

  • Utapao, Thailand

  • Chittagong, Bangladesh

  • Mykonos, Greece

  • Málaga, Spain

  • Accra, Ghana

  • Lisbon, Portugal

  • Abidjan, Ivory Coast

  • Prague, Czech Republic

  • Kiev, Ukraine

  • Mombasa, Kenya

Have you seen your home city on this list? Drop us a line in the comments below and let us know where you’ll be traveling to next! Also, don’t forget to give us a like and a share -- it keeps us going!